It Will All Hurt

it will all hurt

2.5/5 – The comic version of a strangely fantastic dream
Premise
It Will All Hurt describes itself as “a weird, sad, silly, and sketchy, fantasy adventure strip with magic and science-fiction and some fighting action.” There are currently three “parts”, each a couple of pages long, and it’s currently updating once a week as of this writing. It’s also currently up for an Eisner award, the full list of candidates is available here: http://www.comic-con.org/awards/will-eisner-comic-industry-award-nominees-2013. I’ll be reviewing all of the webcomics here – this is the second one I’m doing. So far I have determined that to be Eisner nominated a comic has to be really weird. Hopefully the rest of the entries will break that trend.

What’s Awesome About It?
I’m not entirely sure where to start with this one. The first thing that stuck out to me was the art, so I’ll go with that. The art is in color, and it’s a unique, sketchy style that lends the comic a sort of roughness that I think works well with its strange, disjointed story. Basically, the best way to describe this comic is that it’s a weird, interesting fantasy-based dream someone made a comic out of.
Things just sort of happen without any particular reason as to why, although you may have a good time speculating as to why yourself. Much like dream as well, I get the feeling this comic is more about an overall impression as opposed to a defined narrative or technically impressive, strictly representational art.

My Thoughts
Personally, I’m not really sure what to make of this comic. After reading the entire archive I still have very little as to what it’s about, where it’s going, or why. That said I certainly didn’t feel like I wasted my time. Not to harp on the metaphor, but much like a dream I felt like it was just an interesting experience to have had.
While I thought the comic was interesting, I wouldn’t say it’s a must-read, particularly. While the artsy, dreamlike qualities were unique, I felt like the detracted from any sort of coherent structure that makes you want to keep reading the story.
Overall, I feel like if you enjoy somewhat strange experiences or just like to look at quirky art, you’d enjoy It Will All Hurt. It’s also a quick read, so it couldn’t hurt to give it a shot if you want to check out something pretty different from your standard webcomic fare.

stephen@comicspectrum.com
https://comicspectrum.com/ Covering the full spectrum of comics culture

Comic Blog Elite

About comicspectrum

The goal of ComicSpectrum is to provide a one-stop reference for everything about & related to comics and comics culture.
This entry was posted in Eisner Nominee, Fantasy, Surreal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

